ACE Advisory Board

The Duke Center for Autism and Brain Development is proud to be a National Institutes of Health Autism Center of Excellence (ACE).  This designation, only given to a handful of universities, has provided funding for several studies aimed at developing improved ways to detect, diagnose and treat children diagnosed with ASD and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).  The ACE Advisory Board members are leaders in the fields of ASD and ADHD research and serve as advisors to investigators, providing insights across the multiple studies that leverage the ACE award.

Meet the ACE Advisory Board Members


Russell Barkley, PhD
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center
Shelagh Kenney
Deputy Director
The Center for Death Penalty Litigation
Catherine Lord, PhD
George Tarjan Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Semel Institute of Neuroscience and Human Behavior
Professor of Human Development and Psychology
David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
David Mandell, ScD
Professor and Director, Penn Center for Mental Health
Vice Chair for Faculty Development, Department of Psychiatry
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Craig Newschaffer, PhD
Raymond E. and Erin Stuart Schultz Dean
Professor of Biobehavioral Health
Penn State College of Health and Human Development